nugget

Am I the only Lockwood sympathiser around?

While enjoying a month of fine weather at the sea-coast, I was thrown into the company of a most fascinating creature: a real goddess in my eyes, as long as she took no notice of me. I ‘never told my love’ vocally; still, if looks have language, the merest idiot might have guessed I was over head and ears: she understood me at last, and looked a return – the sweetest of all imaginable looks. And what did I do? I confess it with shame – shrunk icily into myself, like a snail; at every glance retired colder and farther; till finally the poor innocent was led to doubt her own senses, and, overwhelmed with confusion at her supposed mistake, persuaded her mamma to decamp.

By this curious turn of disposition I have gained the reputation of deliberate heartlessness; how undeserved, I alone can appreciate.

5 thoughts on “nugget

  1. only to the extent that he is an outsider? his self/social-awareness is quite phail. but of course he’s different from nelly – he didn’t play any role in the tragedy, blah, blah.

  2. agree with robyn. Bronte has intentionally presented him as an unlikable character. i find him more irritating than nelly because at least the latter has invested herself emotionally in the other relationships (albeit sometimes unnecessary), while the former’s narration proves to us that he thinks it easy to form an impression of the characters based on mere observation, which is exactly what bronte does not want us as readers to do.

    • I don’t think this is down to arrogance or that it reveals Lockwood’s character as much as it points out the exclusivity of the main characters at the Heights… the inferences he makes are perfectly justified given his observations and social conventions which of course Heathcliff&pals don’t adhere to – and he’s left bewildered after his visits to the Heights, understandably so. (read the notes Purvis gave out! really illuminating on the role of the outsider, etc.)

Leave a Reply

