move over, children in Africa

Thanks for the sudden flurry of comments, I like being newsworthy. I’m back from my second day of work, and just before I left I tried to tell myself, “Don’t worry, it can’t get any worse :D”.

Ah well, an occasional shot of dramatic irony helps too.

But I’m back and that’s all that matters. I will quit the job after I’ve done enough to be able to get my pay – I really would have stayed on to prove myself had there been a decent pay, because after a while the grime and rude customers stop getting to you and your ego makes a little “pop” sound as it gets burst, which can be pretty entertaining, but I think there must be an available job out there that’s better than this, and I can’t take the shit anymore. And you know it’s a bad thing when my “shit” reference was a pun.

On the bright side, I persuaded myself not to drink someone’s half-drunk fruit drink while clearing the table, TWICE, so yeah, Power to the Starving Temp!

But I’ll still hold a job, I think it’s really enriching, and I’ve been feeling like I’ve earned my periods of slumping in my chair, using the computer. Also, having a job pretty much makes up for / hides your lack of social life.

Bob: Hey Mooty, I didn’t see you at the cool party last night! You weren’t invited?
Mooty: What party – oh uh, I was working. So, um, yo dude, how wuz the drugs and sex, yo?
Bob: What drugs and sex? We spent the night playing someone’s Gamecube.

Or it could help cover up your clandestine rendezvouses with future life partners.

Bob: Hey Mooty, what were you doing last night?
Mooty: Uh, hmm, I was working!
Bob: Really? I went to Filipino Express last night with my friends and we didn’t see you there!
Mooty: Oh, uh, I had toilet duty last night.

OR – it could help you PICK UP your future life partner!

Bob: Hi Mooty, what’ve you been occupied with?
Mooty: I’ve been working. Just got my paycheck last Thursday.
Bob: Wow! You’re working! OMG, so cool! WILL YOU BE MY BOYFRIEND?
Mooty: Okay.

I’d say more, but I’m busy cross-stitching back my ego in time for my next shift.

8 thoughts on “move over, children in Africa

  1. Bob: Hi Mooty, what’ve you been occupied with?
    Mooty: I’ve been working. Just got my paycheck last Thursday.
    Bob: Wow! You’re working! OMG, so cool! WILL YOU BE MY BOYFRIEND?
    Mooty: Okay.

    —> what they said -.-

  2. luminodrake: Oh, silly, no one can resist my charms, not even a fictional attached gay guy.

    stacy: Tralala you still owe me my present and as of now you’re a month late! And happy December to you too :)

Leave a Reply

