disloyal ones at that

Wow! it’s the latest blog quiz craze in town!


Name 7 of your favourite subjects!

1. English
2. Math
3. Physics
4. Chem
5. Lit
6. History
7. SS
8. Sir Launcelot the Brave

1. IS 5 A MALE OR FEMALE?

2. HAVE YOU KISSED 4 BEFORE?

3. DO YOU THINK 2 MAY SECRETLY LIKE 5 WHEN IN FACT 7 HAS A CLANDESTINE AFFAIR WITH 1, WHO MAY OR MAY NOT BE 8’S BIOLOGICAL MOTHER WHO WAS SEPARATED AT BIRTH FROM 6??????

Oh, whatever. From OMGWTFDisgruntled to OMAIGAWDSatisfied down:

History – 26/40 (65%) – overall 3.6
Wow! Way to lose that 4.0! I love my awesome essay-writing skillz, but not all History teachers do. Seriously though, my History teacher had one year to tell me I wrote sucky 26/40 essays but NOOOOO. DELUDE ME. I don’t really want to take History next year, but it’s either History or, like, China Studies (now available in English OR Chinese!), so, yeah.

English – 33/45 (73%) – overall I-Don’t-Know-But-It-Can’t-Be-Below-3.6-But-That’s-Not-Saying-Much
This was another bad one, and I was pretty sure my English CA was 4.0 and above. I know English is a favourite for moderation, but I’m not sure how much they will, and how much I need, so I MIGHT NOT GET A 4.0 FOR ENGLISH AND I WILL KILL MY WOMBAT IF I DON’T.

Physics – 52/80 (65%) – overall 3.6
Honestly? 52 was sort of what I expected. I barely practiced for this one and I needed 64 to get a 4.0 and around 44 to get a 3.6 so that means I got 8 marks for nothing and I should have been playing handphone games the whole day before Physics.

Chem – 56/80 (70%) – overall 3.6-ish?
Chem this year has been pretty dumb, and I spent a lot of time on Chem (as opposed to Physics) and got 56/80, which means that I am kinda dumb like Chem. But, whatever, I scraped a 3.6! Which makes me glad that I studied hard for Chem, unlike how I studied for Physics. I love scraping stuff. It makes you feel that the universe is in your favour.

Math – 45.5 & 48.5/60 – overall 3.6 and 3.6
A careless mistake a page, especially for Paper 1. Lack of practice, as always, and to think I had, what, ten minutes left before the end of the paper and was calculating my GPA with my nifty scientific calculator, and ironically that calculation was kinda screwed up because I predicted at least one 4.0 for Math, when the spare time could actually have been used to, you know, get me that 4.0. It all makes tragic sense in a very Zen way. I don’t know what I’m talking about.

Lit – 21/25 – overall (refer to English)
Rich and I agree that it was an “okay” score. Sometimes our expectations get the better of us.

SS – 26/30 – overall 4.0
Not every day that you top the class after having the teacher specifically allude to your answer as “not having answered the question”. Premonitions of impending FAIL came to naught. I got 12 for the essay I thought was SUPERFAIL, and 14 for the one I thought was SUPERMEH, so like omg, the one good result I got for the EOYs, and the one confirmed 4.0. Precious.

Overall GPA (not counting on any moderation): 3.6 – 3.69 (depending on English and Lit)

I have to say i’m disappointed, because before the EOY results I was in for as high as 3.8, and GPAs tend to look nicer above 3.7, but after History my other 4.0s kinda fell off like Christmas cakes. I know it, I am not in the least exam-smart or motivated when it comes to the really big tests. I lacked the stamina to study and I can hardly be found studying for hours on end. That’s probably my one failure as a student.

In any case I’m pretty proud of myself for having lasted the year and improving on last year’s abysmal GPA. The difference is consistency. Last year was spent salvaging a bad GPA, and this year was spent protecting a good one. I guess I finally slipped up when it came to the EOYs, but it was a great year otherwise.

Leave a Reply

